Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Institute of Certified Records Managers

Nuclear Information and Records Specialist (NS) Certification


The Institute of Certified Records Managers (ICRM) and the Nuclear Information and Records Management Association (NIRMA) established a formal relationship in 1990 to develop an advanced certification. The concept was to develop an advanced industry specific examination module, the nuclear energy industry in this case.  From those early steps, twenty-two CRMs have achieved the advanced designation of Nuclear Information and Records Specialist (NS) with fourteen currently active.  These CRMs are entitled to use the designator ‘CRM/NS’ as a professional indication of advanced certification. 


NIRMA’s work includes examination question development, management and test scoring and is undertaken by the Professional Development Business Unit’s Professional Certification Committee (PCC).  Each member of the committee is a CRM in good standing and has achieved the NS designation.  Any CRM in good standing may apply to sit for the NS examination.  NIRMA reviews the candidate application to assure that appropriate experience has been achieved.  Approved candidates may take the examination.  The actual examination is administered by the ICRM during the May and November examination periods as Part VII of the ICRM certification process.  CRM candidates who wish to apply for the NS examination must establish and maintain membership in NIRMA.  Failure to maintain membership results in the loss of Nuclear Specialist certification. 


Certificates recognizing the candidate’s accomplishment are issued by the ICRM and signed by the presidents of both organizations.  For CRM/NSs who attend NIRMA’s annual conference, the certificates are professionally framed and presented during the annual business meeting.  CRM/NSs become members of NIRMA’s Professional Certification Committee.  There are certification maintenance requirements for NS just as there are for CRM.  A person who loses the CRM designation also loses the NS designation.


As noted in the winter 1998 ICRM newsletter, “this is the first and most fully developed industry-specific certification for the ICRM.  Today, the Nuclear Specialist designation remains the ONLY advanced designation sanctioned by the ICRM.


 Nuclear Specialist Documents

Folder: Reference Documents
CRM-NS Application Form.pdf